Retreat in Daily Life: Prayer 1

God loves me and cares for me

Reminders:

  1. Preparing beforehand helps tremendously.       Decide where to pray, the posture that you will take in prayer, when and how long you will pray, and the scripture passage that you will use.
  2. Try to remember always to end your prayer with the Our Father, since that is how Jesus taught us to pray.
  3. After the prayer, take a few minutes to jot down in your notebook a reference to the passage you prayed with, and any insights or strong desires that moved you.

Notes about Prayer:

  1. The basic attitude for prayer is reverence. Reverence acknowledges that God is present to us. As St. Ignatius suggests, every time we go to prayer we should pause for a few moments as we recollect ourselves and consider how God beholds us. In this awareness we offer Him all our intentions, actions and operations as praise and service of His name.
  2. We go to prayer with an attitude of listening. In prayer we let His word speak of His nearness and care.
  3. “Prayer begins with the realization that I am loved by God as I am. His love is based on nothing and, therefore, is the most basic and secure fact in my life. I simply let myself be loved by God. This is not so much an activity of mine but a passivity which I let God’s love soak in and permeate my whole being…” (Peter van Breeman, SJ)

Ref.: Choosing Christ in the World

Orientations, Vol. II

To Seek and To Find The Will of God

Theme: God Loves Me and Cares for Me

Prayer for What I Want from God:

Lord, my God, I pray for a deeper awareness and understanding of how much You love me and care for me.

Scripture Passages:

  1. Psalm 139:1-18 – God has cared for me in times of joy and pain, in times of success and failure, in times of faithfulness and infidelity.
  2. Hosea 11:1-9 – His love is a tender love.
  3. Isaiah 43:1-7 – You are precious in my eyes and I love you.
  4. Psalm 23 – The Lord is my Shepherd.
  5. Isaiah 49:15-16 – I will never forget you.
  6. Isaiah 54:5-10 – My love shall never leave you.
  7. Deuteronomy 1:29-31 – He carries you as a father his child.

Suggested points for further reflection:

  1. “A Basket of Harvest.” Look back on the past year and write your harvest of blessings:

►meaningful experiences ►significant people

►graces received ►answered prayers

►growths experienced ►etc.

  1. Renew these experiences in your mind and heart, and be filled with gratitude for a loving and caring God.

Conversation with God:

As you are moved, engage in a dialogue with God and freely express to Him your thoughts and the feelings that became alive in prayer.

The man who prays with hope…

might ask for everything…

like a nice weather or an advancement.

This concreteness is even a sign of authenticity

For if you ask only for faith, hope, love…

without making them concrete in the nitty-gritty of life,

you probably haven’t involved God in your real life.

But if you pray with hope,

all those concrete requests are merely…

ways of saying

that we trust in the fullness of God’s goodness…

Whenever we pray with hope,

we put our lives in the hands of God.

Fear and anxiety fade away,

and everything we are given

and everything we are deprived of

is nothing but a finger

pointing out the direction of God’s hidden promise

which we shall taste in full.

An excerpt from Prayer and Hope

by Henri Nouwen

Leave a Reply

