Retreat in Daily Life: Prayer 4

God Works Busily To Create and Save

Reminders:

  1. In prayer, it is not knowing much, but realizing and relishing things interiorly that contents and satisfies the soul (SpEx #2).
  2. God remains present in power and providence, working busily “to carry out his promises…wanting nobody to be lost and everybody to be brought to change his ways” (2 Peter 3:9).

Notes about Prayer:

  1. In prayer, we find ourselves sometimes doing much thinking and reasoning things out. At other times, we experience far more the response of our hearts. It is good to remember that we are always in the context of prayer, whether the prayer is more meditative or more affective. We should always try to maintain a spirit of deep reverence before God, especially when our affections are involved (SpEx #3)
  2. REPETITION is one of the most important dynamics of the Spiritual Exercises journey. It is going back to the point where there has been some movement in prayer, movements of consolation (joy, sense of being lifted up, a sense of God’s presence) or of desolation (struggle, discomfort, a sense of God’s absence) or of spiritual appreciation (one senses the beginning or deepening of some insights which touches the heart).       As St. Ignatius states, “I will remain on a point until I am satisfied.” (Orientations, Vol.2, p.16)

Repetition is an important way of disposing oneself to listen to the Lord. St. Ignatius recommends its use frequently during a retreat.

(Orientations, Vol.1 p.109)

Theme: God works busily to create and save

Grace: Sensitivity and attentiveness to the Spirit of Life working in my life and in the world.

Scripture Passages:

  1. Isaiah 40:1-11 – Like a Shepherd he feeds his flock.
  2. Isaiah 45:7-13 – God creates me surely than a potter creates a pot. He makes my shape and even my day. He determines how I will be used.
  3. John 5:17-30 – My Father goes on working, and so do i.
  4. John 6:28-40 – Christ is the bread sustaining my life.
  5. 2 Peter 3:9-14 – God carries out his promises.
  6. Daniel 3:51-90 – Bless the Lord, all you works of the Lord.
  7. Repetition of one of the Scripture passages.

Points to Ponder:

  1. This is a Period Log. Simply reflect on the following questions:

Where am I now? How did I get there? What marked the beginning of this period? How will I describe this period of my life by way of simile or metaphor? What inner and outer events mark this period’s flow? How do I relate with this flow? What are my feelings?

  1. Looking at your answers, ponder on the image of God that has been surfacing in your life. What is God like? What does He seen to communicate to you?

Colloquy: Bring all these in a personal conversation with God and end with the Our Father.

Stay Pliable

It is not I who shape God;

it is God who shapes me.

If then I am the handiwork of God,

I await the hand of the Artist who does all things in due time.

I offer the pottery of my heart, soft and pliable,

and keep well the form in which the Artist has fashioned me.

I let my clay be moist, lest I grow hard

and lose the imprint of the Potter’s fingers.

I am a piece of pottery

in the process of creation –

marked by the hand of the Maker,

warm from His touch,

malleable to His design.

Leave a Reply

