Retreat in Daily Life: Day 9

Retreat in Daily Life

Prayer Unit 9

God Calls Me To Love as He loves…

Reminders:

  1. Follow any inclination to jot down your special words from Scripture.
  2. Be mindful of consolation and desolation. Are you trusting God more deeply? Are you facing yourself with greater clarity and hope? Are you accepting the joy of God’s love?       These are all signs of consolations, and their notable absence, signs of desolation.

 

Notes about Prayer:

  1. Experts in the spiritual life recommend a regular assessment of one’s daily life. The Consciousness Examen is a good way to assess or critique the self.
  2. The best time for a self-assessment is at night. Actually, it makes an ideal prayer. The time should not be shorter than 5 minutes. Equal time need not be given to each of the five points –

a. Thanksgiving

b. Illumination

c. Review

d. Response

Tomorrow

A self-critique of this kind can be made anywhere:

– while walking outdoors

– or kneeling in the privacy of your own room.

Theme: God Calls Me to Love as He Loves

Grace: My Lord God, I beg for the grace to sense within me a desire to offer myself to love others as you love them.

Scripture Passages:

  1. Psalm 41:1-3 — Blessed in anyone who cares for the poor and the weak; in times of trouble Yahweh rescues him.
  2. Acts 20:28-36 — We must exert ourselves to support the weak, remembering the words of the Lord Jesus…” There is more happiness in giving than in receiving.”
  3. Repetition
  4. Colossians 3:23-25 – Whatever your work is, put your heart into it… It is Christ that you are serving..
  5. John 13:1-20 – Jesus began to wash the disciples’ feet…” do you understand, “ he said, “what I have done to you? I have given you an example.”
  6. Galatians 5:1-15 – you were called to be free…be servants to one another in love…
  7. Repetition

Points to Ponder: “To Love and To Serve”

I look back and review my Ateneo formation…

► What has my Ateneo formation inculcated in my mind and in my heart?

► How did the organization/s in which I belong help me as a person called to love and to serve?

► What am I most grateful for in my 4-year stay in Ateneo?

► What can I do and share for the betterment of society?

PUT LOVE INTO PRACTICE

Love consists in sharing

What one has

And what one is

With those one loves.

Love ought to show itself in deeds

more than any words.

St. Ignatius of Loyola

Leave a Reply

